You are a “Sassy Sister” aren’t you!

Have no fear, I have not been ripping sets of scriptures or climbing out of my window at night to look at stars. No, I earned this from one of my German teachers this week, as I demonstrated to my Sister, Sister Burgess what exactly German would sound like if spoken with a southern accent. I would write it here, but really there is no way to write it out exactly. Just close your eyes and try to picture it, i’m sure you can figure it out. I suppose Leherer Top… Something. He heard my sounds at the lunch table and then started laughing, I continued at an elevated volume answering all his questions that he asked with the same accent. That is where, with a smile from my teacher I was awarded this nickname.

Well, Hello Everyone. I am totally blown away because of all the lovely emails I received, I am going to have to make a grid system or something to figure out how I will reply to you all. I have an hour here to send emails, but that goes by faster than the scene between costume changes. If you catch what I mean. I will admit those first few days were very hard. My time clock was completely thrown off, So, I have been very grateful that I have slowly adjusted.

The Bookstore.  L to R: Sister Burgess, Sister Gardner, Elder McArthur, Elder McDaniel, Elder Gappmayer, Elder Mantle, Elder Erickson

The Bookstore. L to R:
Sister Burgess, Sister Gardner, Elder McArthur, Elder McDaniel, Elder Gappmayer, Elder Mantle, Elder Erickson

Ok, This is the character Description part of this play of too many acts and scene changes to count.

Sister Gardner: sole American woman in this entire MTC. She sings, directs the MTC choir, makes run on sentences in German, and is so happy in the land of England accents. According to the President Preston, Her accent is from “Posh” south london.

Sister Burgess: The Aussie, who defies the odds by working out in a t-shirt printed with candy. With a testimony the size of her country. (Sorry Texas) She is the lovely companion of Sister G, Luckily, Sister B finds Sister G’s quirky mannerisms endearing. (sigh of relief)

Sister Gardner and Sister Burgess exercising.

Sister Gardner and Sister Burgess exercising.

Elder Erickson: The swimmer district leader which is probably a theater kid at heart.

Elder McArthur: The California man who learned spanish in High School and while offering laid back hilarious commentary shocks us all with his ability to pick up the language.

Elder Mantle: He loves to sing and acts as a peacemaker with all these big giant personalities.

Elder McDaniel: The most knowledgeable one about German, this elder will tell you what you need to know. Once he starts you get a fountain of knowledge… drink fast.

Elder Gappmayer: He arrived a day after us, and yet provides the most logical solutions… The laws of gravity do not apply to him.

Peter/Bruder Wilkensen: the teacher of German, who goes from making us laugh for 45 minutes about stupid pun jokes to making us cry while feeling the spirit teaching our fake investigator “Peter”. Who says acting does not feel real. That is the moment I realized I was really a missionary.

Sister Fredrickson: Sweeter than honey and smarter than you. (teacher)

There are three other sisters… Sister Chevca ( it is french written differently):  France Sister Stein: Really refined and then totally fun loving : Netherlands Sister Anderson: sweet and quite, I am sure I seem like a crazy American girl to her because I am always telling loud stories or so tired I am barely eating my pasta. Well, there you go. That is the cast of characters.

From Left: Sister Anderson, Sister Stein, Sister Burgess, Sister Gardner, Sister Chave

From Left: Sister Anderson, Sister Stein, Sister Burgess, Sister Gardner, Sister Chave

I find things to make me smile every day in the midst of all this mind numbing learning. There is so much to improve on and so much that I have to be patience about. That is Sister B and I’s (and all of us…) theme…. Geduld. We all went to the temple today for P-Day. And into town to the supermarket there.

Sister Gardner with Flowers

It is a strange but magical feeling to walk around wearing my badge. Time goes so quickly my lovelies, but please keep writing me, I promise I have read it, and I will reply as soon as possible. I am happy, I am busy, I am still singing, I am working to be patienct with myself and learning better German, I am Sister Gardner.

All My Love, (I’m gonna Pop out now)

Sister Gardner.

Preston LDS Temple Visit on P-day

Preston LDS Temple Visit on P-day

Standing in the Rain  from Left: Elder Gappmayer, Elder McDaniel, Elder McArthur, Elder Erickson, Elder Mantle, Sister Burgess, Sister Gardner

Standing in the Rain from Left: Elder Gappmayer, Elder McDaniel, Elder McArthur, Elder Erickson, Elder Mantle, Sister Burgess, Sister Gardner

England SnowdropsEngland MTC flags

Companions. Sister Burgess and Sister Gardner

Companions. Sister Burgess and Sister Gardner

Those in the England MTC on 3/4/2015

Those in the England MTC on 3/4/2015

One thought on “You are a “Sassy Sister” aren’t you!

  1. Dear Calee, Thank-you for setting the stage for us. What a wonderful cast and setting for your grand adventure. Sei Geduldig und du wirst bald sehr gut Deutsch sprechen koennen. Moege Gott sei immer bei dir! Opa Gardner

    Like

Leave a Reply

