Tech Week

TECH WEEK
If you want to understand what kind of week I have had please refer to the title. Ha Ha. Thank you, now if you are still confused as to what I mean by Tech Week, let me explain.

Silly Studies or does studying make you silly?  sister Burgess and Sister Gardner

Silly Studies or does studying make you silly? sister Burgess and Sister Gardner

Tech Week is the week that must come to pass before a show can have its opening night, it is notorious for last minute problem fixes, long hours, stress, malfuncions and basically is like the quality control guy at Krispy Kremes with the long tongs, not everyone is going to make it out alive it seems. ( I’m sure we will though)

Figuring it out

Figuring it out

Ok, so maybe that is a little too frightening of an explination. But to get my point across. Tech Week is the week that technician, costumers, designers, actors and musicians generally need …but do not want.
But, let me explain to you the other side of Tech Week. These are the rehearsals where everything starts to come together. Is the production perfect? Heavens no. But you start to see the magic happen. The costumes and the props, the lights and the cues. Lines are memorized, scerery added, Projections and fog and music all coming together. The production will only ripen as it continues but Tech Week is when it all starts to make sense in the most nerve wracking sort of way. You start to realize that even though, you feel you will never be totally ready for the show to open, you do in fact have a show. And because the music is good, because the message is written into the scripts and because there are so many working to make it a success, the only hope now is to put your heart into it and share with who ever comes through the doors.
Currently I am trying to wait very very patiently for opening night.

So now that you know my current mental state, how about a little update on what I have been up to.

All of the Missionaries in The England MTC on March 30, 2015

All of the Missionaries in The England MTC on March 30, 2015

Everyone  having fun at the MTC on March 30, 2015

Everyone having fun at the MTC on March 30, 2015

We gave a tour of the “Church” to one of our investigators this week. Because obviously if you put sticky notes on the doors with names like “Sunday School” and “Family History Center” the empty class rooms magically transform into a full blown chapel and not the corridors of the MTC. I think the most entertaining part of that was when Sister Burgess and I showed Frank the “Primary” and all the other German Elders, the one in the other German Language District, inside started singing in high squeaky voices the much beloved hymn many will know as “I am a Child of God” in German naturally. Just to be brief I will say that those primary children, as much as I love them, need to practice. Ha Ha, It was great.

I got Sister Burgess to do the exercise work out with me, so that was nice. I think it is funny how even listening to hymns sung by the tabernacle choir motivates me to run so much more than silence. We have a funny little group of us who use the gym during work out time. Three are Elders from my district and the other is Elder Dimartino from Italy. I had some Italian music on my Ipod. It was on shuffle, and when it went to the Italian song, he got very excited.

It has been raining here a lot. Surprise! But one glorious day, God stopped the drizzle and it meant that we would be able to go to the field. It has always been too wet to play safely. But there is a lovely running path, It goes through trees and around and up a little hill. Sister B wanted to speed walk, so I would run a little until I would be out of her sight if I continued, and then I would run back to her and giver her a high five. Eventually we started playing ultimate Frisbee, It was so nice to be able to sprint down the field and dive for the Frisbee and get pleasantly grass stained and muddied. ( I am not sure that is a word, but you get the idea.)

Singing and Dancing in the Rain.-  Sometimes Elder Erickson will sing the Singing in the Rain Songs with me.

Singing and Dancing in the Rain.- Sometimes Elder Erickson will sing the Singing in the Rain Songs with me.

Enjoying the Rain.  Elder McDaniel, Elder Gappmayer, Elder McArthur and Sister Burgess

Enjoying the Rain. Elder McDaniel, Elder Gappmayer, Elder McArthur and Sister Burgess

Also I got some letters this week and getting letters is the most magical thing, also reading your emails. I don’t know if I said this already, but I go print them off first thing and then I set them around me on the ground in our dorm room, it is like a most lovely Christmas morning. I read them each a few times after email time.

Today we have planned to paint eggs today. Because I do that sort of thing. Elder McArthur says he plans to make a Batman egg. I applauded him greatly.

Spring is Blooming!

Spring is Blooming!

Little Lamb

Little Lamb

The buds are bigger this week!

The buds are bigger this week!

I don’t know if I shared this with you all, but I thought it was really powerful so I am going to share.

“Man may deceive his fellow-men, deception may follow deception, and the children of the wicked one may have power to seduce the foolish and untaught, till naught but fiction feeds the many, and the fruit of falsehood carries in its current the giddy to the grave; but one touch with the finger of his love, yes, one ray of glory from the upper world, or one word from the mouth of the Savior, from the bosom of eternity, strikes it all into insignificance, and blots it forever from the mind. ” — Oliver Cowdery

That Ray of Light

That Ray of Light

I think I just really love the way Oliver is writing here. And it shows how important it is to teach with the spirit. I can give my testimony all I want, I can try to love and serve others, understand and uplift them, but that “one ray of glory” is what will bring the truth to my message and hopefully inspire those I teach.

All My Love,
Sister Gardner

Tourists Extraordinaire - Hip Hats and Jammie Dodgers

Tourists Extraordinaire – Hip Hats and Jammie Dodgers

One thought on “Tech Week

Leave a Reply

