Fortune Favors the Brave

Fortune Favors the Brave….No, but really.

The big challenge at the end of the day, the deciding factor is, did you open your mouth and share? Were you brave? Did you try something new? Were you kind? Were you creative? Did you connect? Did you try? Was your commitment there? Did you learn something? That applies to Missionaries, theater, work, the gospel, and daily life (also a plethora of other things, but you get the picture.)

Tranfer Day for Sister Poll.  Off on a new adventure in Vienna (Wein).  I will miss her.

Tranfer Day for Sister Poll. Off on a new adventure in Vienna (Wien). I will miss her.

We went on the fourth of July and did a six-hour service project for a family in our ward. We pulled weeds and dug holes laid weed paper, placed stones, cut grass and spread mulch. We worked in the hot sun and I talked to Sister S about opera and singing in general. (She is an opera singer) After working really hard we had a BBQ with white wurst and salad. Mmm. She also gave us ice cream with Oreos and as a gift a bottle of peanut butter. She was so wonderful trying to help us have a good Fourth of July. I missed the fireworks and family, but it was a wonderful day because I got to serve with my little family over here in Austria.

Fourth of July service project for a family in our ward.  Sister Smith, Elder McArthur and Elder Wise

Fourth of July service project for a family in our ward. Sister Smith, Elder McArthur and Elder Wise

Fourth of July service project

Fourth of July service project

The Project

The Project- Looking Good

View from our ward members backyard.

View from our ward members backyard.

We found some wonderful people this week. So many times when plans fall through, or something goes not according to plan, it puts us in a place to find a different miracle. To talk to someone else or run in to people we have been trying to get in contact with. Like our investigator leaving sacrament meeting early to ” change her daughters diaper” who left before we could make an appointment for the next week. Meaning we did not have an appointment. But we ran into L coming out of his Catholic Church on the way home. We did not even know that the building was a church. We were able to meet with him and he agreed to let us talk it all through with him again.  It is great also finding people who are ready to take a Book of Mormon.

Spires in the sun, on our Pday hike.

Spires in the sun, on our Pday hike.

We found a really cool guy. His name is F.  He took a Book of Mormon, and told us that he really has a lot of respect and love for Jesus Christ. He asked what he would have to do if he decided he liked this religion more than his current religion. we answered to be baptized and he thought that made a lot of sense. He asked if we smoke or drink and we told him no, thinking he would protest, but he went right along with that smiling saying that was good because then we would be stronger. He liked the idea that there is a prophet today. He told us at the very end that missionaries have rang his doorbell many times and he has alwas not given them the time, but this time they found him the park and now it is more serious. Wow. That was an amazing expereience. There is always something to do, some good.

Sister Gardner and Sister Smith

Sister Gardner and Sister Smith with Graz below.

It may have taken 19 years, but I now know exactly what it feels like when I am feeling the spirit. Of course I have felt it before, but now, I can feel it even when I am just reading an ensign talk or a quote. It is like this almost physical pressure inside of me. Every time it comes now, I am able to tell that is the Holy Ghost.  It is hard to explain but this new knowledge has become a huge blessing in my life as I have been studying.

Clock Tower at the Schlossberg in Graz.  Our  P-day adventure.

Clock Tower at the Schlossberg in Graz. Our P-day adventure.

We had a great dance class activity with the girls in our wards Young Women’s group. I was able to lead it just like I have learned from dance classes all growing up. We did a mirroring activitiy and had the girls switch partners so that the new ones could meet the girls already in the ward. We did a warm up, across the floor movement, stretching, following in a line, leg swings and the different ballet postions.  Then for the end, I taught a short sequence. It was a joy to serve the people in my ward with my talents.

I am able to work hard and I am trying hard. I have so much to improve on, but I am feeling good.

……“and I´m feelin’ good”.

And, I need to go now because time is a ticking.

Much love my dears.

Love,

Sister Gardner

I Love.... Send me an email sharing with me three things you love, three things that make you smile.

I Love….
Send me an email sharing with me three things you love, three things that make you smile. (or leave a comment and I, Sister Gardner’s mother, will get it to her)

Murinsel (Island in the Mur) A floating cafe on the River Mur.

These are pictures from last P-day.  They went and visited the Murinsel (Island in the Mur)
A floating cafe on the River Mur.

Murinsel cafe

Murinsel cafe by the giant rope spider web.

Murinsel cafe.  Elder McArthur, Elder Wise and Sister Smith.

Murinsel cafe. Elder McArthur, Elder Wise and Sister Smith.  The New Wonderful Graz Family.

Murinsel 5

bridge over the River Mur

bridge over the River Mur

Leave a Reply

