My Strongest Suit

My Strongest Suit

I think my strongest suit is finding random addresses in small towns outside of Graz and only getting lost a few times, that or being really good at forgetting an umbrella when I need it. Yeah. I think I choose the later.

In all reality I think it would be lovely if I had some sort of super power to be a super missionary, say the right things bring the right spirit, have people flocking to me begging to be taught. Ha. Not so. But you see, Superman has it too easy. I think I shall be a Batman missionary, with all the right tools and know how. The Holy Ghost is the real superhero here. I just am a fancy sidekick lacking a bat mobile.

Ok, Hope you enjoyed that brief musing.

This pole apparently has been claimed.

This pole apparently has been claimed.

Good things happened this week, and God was in all the details. We gave out a lot of copies of the Book of Mormon and found a whole new family to teach. Our English class is starting to get more students and L met with us again. He is not quite ready to recommit to a date for baptism, but we are giving him a little time to figure things out. He is dependent on a catholic church for shelter and feels pressured to go to their church because they are giving him a place to live. He also needs a better job and just a more secure situation… Like a visa maybe. Life is rough for these Auslanders (foreigner) that come here seeking a better life. But I know it is a lot better than their homelands. A lot less conflict and risk of being killed.

The Lion of Graz

The Lion of Graz

We went out to visit a man that we found in the companionship phone, I called him because his name was interesting, M. He ended up wanting to meet with us and for us to give him a Book of Mormon. But surprise he lives out past B’s dad’s house. Which in all reality is super close because our area is large. There is no way for us to even logically get to the other side and back home in a day. At first, this frustrated me because there was a whole half of the map that we never can visit. But the thing is, if we build up the church here, then it will hopefully spread and someday those people out there will be able to hear the message of the restored gospel as well. I know it will take a long time, But my efforts within this city are just as important as trying to spread out. Strength in numbers I suppose; strength in togetherness and actually being able to get to church without leaving at 5 in the morning. I don’t know about you, but I think some investigators might have a problem with that considering it is still a big job to help them come when they live in the city.

The Elders came with us on this venture out to M to be a joint teach. Halfway there though he canceled saying he was sick. I was feeling sad because we had already come so far, so I texted back asking if we could at least leave him a book. He said that would be fine. We arrived at a small quaint train station and then started out along a road trying to find the address. It took a few wrong turns but we finally all got there. We called him and he came around the corner of the building wearing a scarf with sad eyes. He did look sick. He listened politely as we explained quickly what the book was, using the picture in the front to give an overview. But then soon left shaking all of our hands. It was interesting to have come all the way to teach him, and for our encounter to only last a minute and a half at most.

We decided to do some dooring anyway. One of the names on the klingle board (doorbell board) was T. We wanted to try that one first but we started at the top and went down. Unfortunately, no one answered at the T door. But the last man, on the first floor came right out of his door, his dog barking loudly. I quickly went up the few steps to meet him, Sister Smith right behind me. I told him quickly that we were missionaries from The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints and we were sharing this book. Before I even finished he took the book and said “Mormon. Super”, and then went back inside leaving us standing slightly confused in front of his closed door. Ha. It was all so abrupt. But, honestly at least he tool the book.

There were so many other adventures that day knocking on doors, the Elders stuck with us until the next train came in an hour. We gave out basically all of our church material, everything with us in German.

Well that is just one example of a day this week. We also taught a lesson to a family from Africa that speaks mostly French, we went walking with a ward member who is in a wheelchair, we stopped in the park and sang for him. He smiled. It makes me glad to serve. His mother usually has to take care of him all day, everyday and she does it working so hard but I was glad to give her a little break. I am so impressed by her love for her son. He is a blessing.

Good things happening all around.

Sisters

Sister Gardner and Sister Smith

I wanted to share something from my scripture study about a man named Aminadab. He is a “less active” but when it really counts, he knew what to do; he knew that the church was true. That is the same with any testimony. These truths touch our hearts and we are never the same. I know it has changed my heart for the better.

In closing, sometimes when I want to live on the edge I eat a seed from my apple.

Love,
Sister Gardner

Leave a Reply

