Stand Strong Wiener Neustadt, Stand Pure and Strong

Stand Wiener Neustadt, Stand Pure and Strong

Stand against the questions and hurt feelings, and misunderstood questions, stand against the pressures and uncertainties, hold on to testimony and love and look for the light in each day. I have faith in you and I am here to help you, I am the caregiver who will care while the miracle curer is away. I will bandage your wounds and sit with you on the long nights reading stories and helping you grow to love the people of back in time in the scriptures. I will take care of you, my companion and I, what ever you need.

"So, this is where we are suppose to put our bikes, I think".

“So, this is where we are suppose to put our bikes, I think”.

On our way to the middle of somewhere.

On our way to the middle of somewhere.

I love this place; it makes me so happy that I am busy with people to love and grand adventures to pull off.

I learned a lot from General Conference, sitting on the front row on metal chairs with a few Austrians quietly listening to the conference in English. I don’t know why they where in that room, the German translation is in the other room. Maybe it I had something to do with actually hearing a Prophet’s voice. This I can fully approve of and understand.

I really appreciated conference this week. I don’t know, I felt like it went by too fast. I was feeling comfortable and then suddenly we are singing the closing song. I really, really listened and I found a lot of promises in the words that where spoken. Promises that reassure me that when I open my mouth and declare, I can bring the spirit.

One thing I enjoyed about conference was being able to understand all the jokes. You underestimate that for people watching it translated.

Hurrah for old musical friends from the MTC.  Singing  with Elder Erickson.

Hurrah for old musical friends from the MTC. Singing with Elder Erickson.

This week was filled with service actually, and a trip to Salzburg for zone conference, and a Tausch (exchange) with my friend Sister Ahlm.

I worked in a garden for a few hours pulling weeds and getting the earth ready for the winter. We picked beans and made cake. I was with sister Ahlm. We told stories and avoided the stinging nettle used for tea making. I love rose bushes and speckled slugs. These were bigger than I had ever seen before. I helped E with his English homework later that week when we came in from digging a trench for Sister R and I took a break from chopping up veggies and drilled him on his political themed vocabulary. He is a good friend.

So you want to learn a language.  My stack of books.  Spanish books are now in the mix.

So you want to learn a language. My stack of books. Spanish books are now in the mix.

I loved carving pumpkins with the P’s this week. Over here in Austria the priesthood session was shown Sunday morning at the church. I helped their little girls print out and prepared their pumpkin carvings. They ran around and rolled along on roller skates.

The zone training was nice. Good to see some good friends again. One funny thing happened. We had all been given one of the two assignments to prepare a talk on; Language or Preparation day. President used random months and “oldestness” to decided who would give the talk for each topic. Guess who was born in November, and a few days before Elder Call… yep. That is me. Ha ha. I had a feeling and it was nice to share my thoughts on the topic.

Dinner with Sister Ahlm on our exchange.

Dinner with Sister Ahlm on our exchange.

Tausch (exchange) was really great. It is interesting to be a Sister Training leader now, but really often I felt like I was learning more from Sister Ahlm than me helping her. We had a good time. One highlight was teaching T again. She got a bit busy, but after meeting with her she is still so excited. Best of all her husband was also on board. Favorite quotes from that lesson are as follows:
“Yeah, but C, sprinkling is not in the Bible. We’ve got to do it like Jesus.” -T
” If you had said, 1000 members yesterday, you now have 1003.” -C

Sister Pratt and her bike.

Sister Pratt and her bike.

Well. There you go folks.
It was a good week. The church is true. Thomas S. Monson is a prophet. The new apostles are awesome. Tab choir can sing! The church is a thing in Africa. I still like spaghetti. Schwester E came to conference. Uchtdorf is funny. I like being a missionary. The sky is blue and leaves are falling. Bruder C is a piano genius. I am out of time. I like to feel the spirit. It is pretty great. You are also pretty great. I am writing what I am thinking.

The Sisters and Breakfast

The Sisters and Breakfast

“She realized she was actually going to miss this strange old house with the stalker cat and her beloved great-aunt Rose” (Quote from Elder Uchtdorf’s talk in Women’s Conference)

And with that my dears, love every place you are. Love the stalker cats and happy hat-wearing ladies of your place in time on the earth right now. It is a blessing. I know that I am blessed to be in Wiener Neustadt; serving the Lord and doing my best to love. I have so many weaknesses, but I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Love,
Sister Gardner

Zone Conference

Zone Conference

Missionaries at Zone conference

Missionaries at Zone conference

Zone Conference

Zone Conference

A fun German version of a favorite story.

A fun German version of a favorite story.

Leave a Reply

