Patience

“Patience- the ability to put our desires on hold for a time- is a precious and rare virtue. We want what we want and we want it now. Therefore, the very idea of patience may seem unpleasant and at times, bitter. Nevertheless, without patience, we cannot please God; we cannot become perfect. Indeed, patience is a purifying process that refines understanding, deepens happiness, focuses action, and offers hope for peace. Patience means accepting that which cannot be changed and facing it with courage, grace, and faith. it means being “willing to submit to all things which the Lord seeth fit to inflict upon  (us), even as a child doth submit to his father. ” Ultimately, patience means being “firm and steadfast, and immovable in keeping the commandments of the Lord” every hour of every day, even when it is hard to do so. The lessons we learn from patience will cultivate our character, lift our live and heighten our happiness. ” -Deiter F. Uchtdorf

nauvoo 5 21I found this quote yesterday when i was feeling really worried about the state of my vocal cords yesterday. it is still getting better, but i feel helpless to repair my most beloved tool. But I know in my heart the Lord is striving to help me grow.

That being said, i have grown a lot this week. We have learned so much choreography. It has been really exciting, but we have sweat so much. When I was not put into some of the featured dance groups I felt a little frustrated, But then I thought about why I was here, and I realized again that it is not my place to worry about when or how much i am dancing. I am still able to contribute mountains through my character I can portray on the stage. carriage ride 5 21

We have a new revamped show for Sunset by the Mississippi, There is lots of new music and choreography. My favorite part is the little bit of tumbling and jumping on the bed I do for ” Grandma’s feather bed”

We open our shows on Saturday. The promise is going well. I love the story I get to tell. I know that this character is an in important part for me to have. It is the way I can share my testimony with the audience. I can put all my feeling into it. I hope that all those who see the show will feel the truth of my words.

I am exhausted at the end of each day. I am loving it though. I love to be always dancing,  singing, and working and then underneath is all is this fueling power of my calling.
I will just end with a  few highlights.
*I got a story sent to me by my mother. The story was so touching to me, many of the difficulties my ancestor faced are portrayed in the promise and then I was able to go with a small group during a music rehearsal to sing in the still and the silence of the historic cemetery knowing that I had an ancestor buried there. we sang here 5 21
*Something funny we have been dealing with this week is the hideous rehearsal slips. They are all white but ill fitting and sweaty, we have to wear them over our rehearsal shirts and sweats. They do not flatter anyone.

*Most nights we gather in the visitors center around the Christus statue and we all get the opportunity to share our thoughts from the day. I love hearing what everyone is feeling and then singing together and kneeling in prayer.
*When we first got here I suggested to the stage sisters that we choose a Christlike attribute to work on each week. Last week was faith and this week we chose virtue. We are going in the order of D&C. We are all figuring out how to work along with each other, but I already feel this closeness and love. It is so different living with so many women, but I love it too. Which surprises me. singing rehearsal
*Elder Zwick of the seventy came and surprise visited us. He told stories about President Monson, and said we should read the Book of Mormon while we are here.
It is so funny how close I feel to my mission. I have been wanting to speak in German more and more.
Well, time is up! Love you!

rehearsal 5 21

Leave a Reply

