Feel Free to Shout Out

“Feel free to shout out “over and under as you run.” I wind the long tail of the massive maypole ribbon around my wrist and prepare to take off to start the weaving. the stage is at a slant and the enormous lines of fabric stretch out across the whole stage. I am helping to create the beautiful dance inspired by Preston, the place of my MTC.
It was a good week, besides running and polkaing down dangerously slopped stages, we had a wonderful week of performances.

H89A2823-6-6

Singing in the Visitors Center

 
It has been a focus for me this week to really recognize what does and does not bring and invite the spirit, and then change my behavior and attitude based on that. We are not perfect human beings, we make mistakes, but the important thing is how we handle the mistakes;  if we really truly try to improve from them and keep a growth mindset of learning.
This week we sang at the commemoration of the martyrdom of Joseph and Hyrum Smith, both at the Community of Christ Church and at The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. They were both wonderful programs. It is interesting to think how the work of this prophet has influenced so many people. you look at Nauvoo and think that it is a lovely town and everything, but the saints had no idea how this faith would spread forth across the whole world. There is still much work to be done. My grandparents and aunt and uncle came to visit with their children. She shared with me that she really feels that Nauvoo is a place of healing for me.
I think that she is right. Each day of course has its own trials and difficulties, but over all, I am feeling like I am healing from being back from Germany. I am adjusting to the realization that my whole life, through the arts, I will be able to testify of my Savior. I will be able to invite people to come to Christ.
I am so grateful for the temple here. I love going inside, but also just the beacon of light it is up on the hill.

H89A2878-24-23

The Promise

Last night we had a pre- fourth of July celebration. The band played with the Nauvoo community band. They had a concert in front the of the temple. We went to watch and started talking with some families. Then we went down to the river where trail of hope ends and watched the fireworks being launched across the river in Montrose.
I love how the stories I tell in the promise become alive as I learn more about the history of this place, and the geography. It is truly splendid to see how my theatrical presentations fit in with the world I am living in. It is not just a story we are telling. it is truly what happened.

H89A3337-208-207

Nauvoo Singers – Youth of Zion

We have been working on a song to sing for Nauvoo Singers. It is I am a child of God set to the accompaniment of Blackbird. I love the song and the idea created through their juxtaposition. I will try to send a recording. I love how music speaks to the people here. I also loving singing ‘Whenever”: “I know that my heavenly Father loves me” outside as the birds sing and the wind is literally rushing by. Nature is god’s theater.

H89A2979-78-77

The Promise

I am filled with hope despite my insecurities of the future and my feelings of inadequacy I face daily.
As I turn to prayer and the Scriptures and most importantly to serving others, that is where I find my solace. That is where I find the strength to overcome everything I face.

All My Love,
Sister Gardner

 

One thought on “Feel Free to Shout Out

  1. I enjoy hearing your testimony through your comments here. Nauvoo really is a magical place and a wonderful experience. I’m so glad you have had wonderful experiences there and share some of them with us. It was so fun meeting you and seeing you in Person a couple of weeks ago. It was really nice meeting and visiting a bit with your mother and family. Thank you for what you are doing there.
    Sister Gappmayer

    Like

Leave a Reply

